Wigan appoint four new directors to their board

9 October 2019

Photo: Getty Images A fan takes a photo of the statue of the former Wigan Athletic chairman David Whelan holding the FA Cup trophy outside the club's stadium.

The new members, including the deputy chief financial officer of the club's corporate owner, join to make what is now a nine-member board.

Wigan are owned by the Hong Kong-based company International Entertainment Corporation, which completed a takeover of the club in November last year.

Emil Gjerding Nielson nielson@offthepitch.com

Championship stragglers Wigan Athletic have announced the appointment of four new members to their board, forming part of the Hong Kong-based owner's revamp of the club. 

"The Board welcomes Mr. Chi Wai Lee, Ms. Wing Lam Leung, Mr. Cheung Tat Man and Dr. Michelle Chen to the existing Board of Directors, which includes Darren Royle, Joe Royle, Thomas Chan, Jonathan Jackson and Kevin Roberts," the club said in a statement on their website.

Do you want to read this article?

Get instant access by signing up for a 7-day free trial

No credit card, no commitments and it will expire automatically.

You will receive a link that activates your trial in an email.